Faculty Directory

Photo - Book Cover - CurrentsTwelve Pastoral Practices for the Life and Mission of the Church
by the Wartburg faculty, Currents, Volume 38, No. 5.


Practice of Being Rooted in the Gospel
S.D. Giere

Practice of Missio Dei in Word and Sacrament
Thomas H. Schattauer

Practice of Biblical and Theological Wisdom
Gwen B. Sayler

Practice of Ecclesial Partnership
Winston D. Persaud

Practice of Complex Analysis
Ann L. Fritschel

Practice of Curiosity
Daniel L. Olson

Practice of Pastoral Concern
Craig L. Nessan

Practice of Personal Faith and Integrity
Susan J. Ebertz

Practice of Collegiality
Norma Cook Everist

Practice of Evangelical Listening and Speaking the Faith to Others
Nathan C. P. Frambach

Practice of Immersion in the Context
Kristine M. Stache

Practice of Engagement with Cross-Cultural and Global Dimensions
Duane A. Priebe

Conclusion: And Now, Reflect and Give Thanks
Stanley N. Olson

Photo - Book Cover - The Difficult But Indespensable ChurchThe Difficult but Indispensable Church,
previously published by the Wartburg faculty is still available through Fortress Press.

A Study Guidefor use with the book is available. Click here for more information.


The easy accessibility of students to faculty members is one of the hallmarks of the Wartburg experience. Daily life at Wartburg places students and faculty into close proximity with one another through worship, fellowship and other events outside the classroom.

  • Dr. James L. Bailey
    Professor of New Testament, Emeritus
  • Dr. Norma Cook Everist
    Professor of Church Administration and Educational Ministry
  • Susan Ebertz
    Director of the Reu Memorial Library and Assistant Professor of
    Bibliography and Academic Research
  • Dr. Nathan Frambach    
    Professor of Pastoral Theology; Coordinator of MA Degree Programs
  • Dr. Ann Fritschel    
    Professor of Hebrew Bible; The Rev. Dr. Frank L. and Joyce S. Benz Professor in Scripture; Director of the Center for Theology and Land
  • Dr. Samuel Giere
    Associate Professor of Homiletics and Biblical Interpretation
  • Dr. Elizabeth A. Leeper
    Associate Professor of Church History
  • Dr. Martin J. Lohrmann
    Assistant Professor of Lutheran Confessions and Heritage
  • Dr. David J. Lull
    Professor of New Testament, Emeritus
  • Dr. Craig Nessan
    Academic Dean and Professor of Contextual Theology
  • Dr. Winston Persaud 
    Professor of Systematic Theology; The Kent S. Knutson and UELC Professor in Theology and Mission; Director of the Center for Global Theologies
  • Dr. Duane Priebe    
    Professor of Systematic Theology; Kent S. Knutson Fellow in Theology
  • Dr. Ralph W. Quere
    Professor of History & Theology, Emeritus
  • Dr. Gwen Sayler
    Professor of Bible; The William A. and John E. Wagner Professor of Biblical Theology; Director of Lifelong Learning
  • Dr. Thomas Schattauer     
    Professor of Liturgics and Dean of the Chapel
  • Associate Professor of Missional Leadership and Director of Learning for Life
  • Assistant Professor of New Testament
  • Lutheran Seminary Program in the Southwest (LSPS, Austin, TX) -- Executive Director & Associate Professor of Theology, Culture and Mission

Instructors at Wartburg

  • Rebecca Seegert
    Instructor of Spanish
  • Dr. Roy W. Carroll 
    Cantor and Director of Chapel Choir, Instructor in Organ and Church Music
    Professor of Music, Loras College, Dubuque
       B.M.ED., Muskingum College; M.M. Kent State University;
       Ph.D. in Organ and Church Music/Musicology, University of Iowa
  • May Persaud
    Instructor in Biblical Languages
       M.A.R., University of Dubuque Theological Seminary
  • Loretta Haskell
    Instructor in Graduate Writing

Wartburg Adjunct & Affiliate Faculty

  • Virginia (Ginger) Anderson-Larson
    Adjunct Instructor of Spiritual Formation
  • Thomas Determan
    Anti-racism workshop leader for Wartburg
  • David Horstmann
    Instructor of Finance
  • Shannon Jung
    Adjunct Professor of Rural Ministry
    Professor of Town and Country Ministries, Saint Paul School of Theology, Kansas City (MO)
  • Fritz Lampe
    Instructor of Religion, Anthropology, and the Human World
  • Charles H. Maahs
    Bishop Emeritus, Central States Synod
    Instructor in New Testament (TEEM, CTL)
  • Matt Marohl
    Instructor in Bible (TEEM/CTL)
  • Nathan Montover
    Part-Time Instructor in the Department of Religion, Augustana College, Rock Island (IL), and Pastor, Gloria Dei Lutheran Church, Durant (IA)
  • Elaine Ramshaw
    Instructor in Pastoral Care (TEEM, CTL)
  • Kristine Ruffatto
    Instructor in Hebrew Bible (TEEM, CTL)

Printer Friendly Page Version     
SiteMap Link Contact Us Link Check Email Link
    333 Wartburg Place   Dubuque, IA 52003   Phone:(563) 589-0200   Fax:(563) 589-0333

    Copyright© 2004-2014  Wartburg Theological Seminary    All Rights Reserved    Privacy Policy