WTS Appoints New Vice President for Mission Support


DUBUQUE, IA – February 19, 2014 – Janelle Koepke has been appointed as Vice President for Mission Support for Wartburg Theological Seminary. She began her official duties on February 1, 2014. President Stanley N. Olson said of the new Vice President for Mission Support, “I am delighted that Janelle has accepted this new role. She knows Wartburg Seminary very well from several perspectives and is an effective advocate for its mission. Janelle is already enabling expanded collaboration in telling WTS stories and inviting people to engage as senders, supporters and participants.”

Koepke has held several leadership roles at Wartburg Seminary since joining the Mission Support team in 2008. Most recently she served as the Director for Mission Support and Communication. Prior to coming to Wartburg she was the Director for Annual Giving at the University of Dubuque and Director of Development at Area Residential Care. Koepke’s husband, Shane, is a 2007 graduate of Wartburg Seminary and now serves two congregations in LaMotte and St. Donatus, Iowa. Originally from Nebraska, Koepke is a graduate of Dana College in Blair, NE and earned her master’s degree in Organizational Communication and Leadership from the University of Dubuque in 2011. Koepke says of her appointment, “I look forward to partnering with alumni, friends, and congregations to share the Wartburg story and building relationships that will impact and sustain the mission of Wartburg Seminary.”

Wartburg Theological Seminary is one of eight theological schools of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. Wartburg is accredited by the Association of Theological Schools and educates women and men to serve the church’s mission as ordained and lay leaders. Established in Dubuque, Iowa in 1854, Wartburg Seminary is in its 160th academic year.