WTS Begins New Academic Year



DUBUQUE, IA – August 26, 2014 – Wartburg Theological Seminary will mark the beginning of its 161st academic year with Opening Worship on Monday, September 1, 2014 at 5:30p.m. The worship service will begin outside in the seminary’s quad near the Martin Luther statue and will be followed by a procession of those gathered faculty, students, families, staff, and others into the Loehe Chapel. This worship tradition marks the start of each new academic year at Wartburg Seminary.

Dr. Craig Nessan, Wartburg’s Academic Dean, reflects on the beginning of this new year: “Again with a new academic year the worship-centered community which is Wartburg Theological Seminary is reconstituted, expanded through a welcome to its newly arriving members, and invokes the presence of God in Christ for renewed embodiment of our distinctive form of life together. We both welcome new members to the Wartburg Seminary community and are heartened by the return of many others after significant formation through field work, Clinical Pastoral Education, or internship. We are grateful for the continuity in community life provided by second year students, staff, and faculty. Having introduced last year a new curriculum with increased attention to spiritual practices, stewardship, evangelizing, and teaching Bible, this year will be distinguished by the launching of new initiatives in theological education for the whole church. Seminary is for everyone, not just those preparing for professional leadership. Therefore we are set to begin offering an array of accessible courses both for church members and as continuing education courses for those serving as pastors and diaconal ministers, including our graduates. While we continue to preserve our cherished traditions centering on worship, academic rigor, and relational learning, Wartburg Seminary continues to innovate for the future. It is a cause for thanksgiving that in this theological community we are formed to be body of Christ for one another and for the life of the world.”

Wartburg Theological Seminary is one of eight theological schools of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. Wartburg was established in Dubuque, Iowa in 1854 and is accredited by the Association of Theological Schools and educates women and men to serve the church’s mission as ordained and lay leaders.