Wartburg Theological Seminary (WTS) 

Wartburg Theological Seminary serves Christ’s church through the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America by being a worship-centered community of critical theological reflection where learning leads to mission and mission informs learning.

The community embodies God’s mission by stewarding resources for engaging, equipping, and sending collaborative leaders who interpret, proclaim and live the gospel of Jesus Christ for a world created for communion with God and in need of personal and social healing.

Degrees and Programs:

Wartburg Theological Seminary offers three graduate-level degrees, Master of Arts, Master of Arts Diaconal Ministry, and Master of Divinity; TEEM (Theological Education for Emerging Ministries) Certificate; and Diploma in Anglican Studies. All accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) and the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association.

All three Masters Degrees offer the option for Distributed Learning Programs, which combine online learning, intensive courses on-campus, and residential formation.

The Lutheran Seminary Program in the Southwest (LSPS) is a program of Wartburg Seminary and the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago. LSPS educates women and men for ordained ministry through TEEM (Theological Education for Emerging Ministry).

Student Enrollment:

Wartburg Seminary has an average student population of 180 students in all degrees and programs. The average student age is 37 years old.


Wartburg Theological Seminary is located in Dubuque, Iowa which is known as the “Masterpiece on the Mississippi” featuring a rich history and natural beauty. The city of Dubuque was named the 2010 “Best Small City to Raise a Family” in the nation by Forbes.com. The seminary campus is located in a welcoming residential neighborhood and features housing for single, married, and students with families.