Wartburg Theological Seminary is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada, 10 Summit Park Drive, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15275-1103, (412) 788-6505,, and by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association, 230 South La Salle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, Illinois 60604, (800) 621-7740, The seminary is approved for the degree programs it currently offers: Master of Divinity, Master of Arts, and the Master of Arts in Diaconal Ministry. The seminary is approved by ATS for a Comprehensive Distance Education Program. The seminary was reaccredited in 2018 for a ten-year period.

Consumer Information

The United States Department of Education requires participants in Title IV Federal Funding Programs to disclose the following consumer information on our website and annually to enrolled and prospective students and our campus community.

The Wartburg Theological Seminary Annual Campus Safety and Security Report & Annual Fire Safety Report are published in September annually. This is the compliance document to the Federal Student Right to Know and Campus Security Act of 1990 also known as the Clery Act, with Higher Education Amendments. Please see the full pdf of the Annual Campus Security Report and Annual Fire Safety Report or see the Director of Financial Aid and Student Services to request a paper copy.

If you desire a paper copy, please write to  Barb Roling, Director for Financial Aid and Student Services, Wartburg Theological Seminary, 333 Wartburg Place, Dubuque, IA 52003 or e-mail her at